The Indiana General Assembly passed a law in 1990 requiring county commissioners to establish solid waste management districts for the purpose of more efficient management of solid waste generated in the State of Indiana.

The commissioners from Madison, Grant, and Delaware Counties joined together to form the East Central Indiana Solid Waste District (ECISWD).  A nine member Board of Directors consisting of two commissioners from each of the three counties and the mayors of Anderson, Marion, and Muncie manage the District.  The District employs three staff members (Director, Assistant Director/Education Coordinator, and Secretary that oversee the day to day operation. 

Over the years, the District has developed a variety of programs. These programs include:

Classroom presentations for all public and private schools located within the District.

Quarterly newsletters focusing on recycling and waste reduction.

Speaking engagements with a variety of community and civic groups.

Educational displays at county fairs and other festivals.

Household Hazardous Waste collection programs within the District.

Used tire recycling programs within the District.

Freon appliance recycling opportunities within the District.

Electronic waste recycling programs within the District.

Waste reduction and recycling program assistance and consultation for schools, businesses, and other organizations located within the District.